Some Updates

I’ve been a bit lazy keeping things current, but I wanted to take a few moments to catch up with you…

  • I recently gave my little blog a place on Facebook.  I’m using that portal to be more of a “curator” of content and sharing what I think is the most useful or valuable to my small following.  It’s actually going to be different from what I post here, so you should pop on over ad “Like” my page – https://www.facebook.com/PersonalReboot
  • My next races are all Olympic Distances, so my focus for right now is (a) building power/speed/strength and then onto (b) distance and endurance.  This has been really evident in the pool as I’ve found that I can pretty much count on 100s coming at a 1:40ish pace when I’m going for distance.  In a set of sprint 100s (with rest intervals) I can get them down into the 1:20s, which is new for me.
  • Zone2 HR training is where its at!  For a long time over the winter and early spring I spent most (if not all) of my time below 148 bpm.  The result is that I can now go A LOT faster with a lower HR.  Case in point – I did a bike/run brick yesterday with a really short 2 mile run.  I kept my HR in Zone2 and was 2 minutes per mile FASTER than comparable runs last fall.
  • Diet – still working on it 🙂  Seriously, I am trying to work in green machine smoothies for breakfasts, some incorporating a scoop of Juvo Green Protein Powder.  It’s not cheap, but it really presents a full amino profile and actually makes a cup full of dirt taste a little better.  Also, bananas and pineapple helps that too.

I see the light at the end of the tunnel in terms of my schedule chaos.  I’ve been travelling almost weekly for work and it’s getting to the point where it drops out for the summer months.  It will pick back up in August/September, but the summertime will need to be focused on quality time and hard work.

My wife and I have stumbled upon some awesome recipes that I’ll be sharing soon.  The one that was one of the most surprising was Cauliflower Crust Pizza!  More on that later…

 

One thought on “Some Updates

Leave a Reply

