The world didn’t end, and life keeps on marching along…

I’ve been absent from the blog for a while.  Truthfully, I’ve been dealing with some issues in real life and have been loaded up with personal and professional obligations as we near year-end.  I haven’t trained too much after my first half marathon on 11/11/12, as I felt like rest and recovery was the name of the game.  I pushed pretty hard towards the end of the fall to complete a triathlon and then a 1/2, so I wanted to ensure some downtime in order to keep sharp.

 

I know this probably sounds lame, but the rest has been a good thing.  My kids are now heavily involved with our JCC’s winter swim team, and as a result just about every Tuesday and Thursday evening have been spent at the local Jewish Community Center.  Mind you we’re not Jewish, but the local JCC has a top notch camp and after school program that our kids really enjoy.  The swim team is also excellent, and they are really responding well to the coaching.

 

Right after the new year, I will embark on my 2013 70.3 plan.  As of right now the Half Ironman I am planning on is Labor Day weekend, so I’ll take January and February to add on an informal base program to build base, speed and strength.  The schedule I have is 20 weeks, so that will kick into gear in April or so.  I’m excited to get going, and I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

