A lot going through my mind today…

This has been an emotional week in my neck of the woods.

  • While my home and family in Wilmington, DE was left alone by Hurricane Sandy, my father’s house in Ocean County, NJ is really wrecked.  I spent part of last weekend helping to gut it.
  • In the midst of all of that turmoil, my father put his 15 year old Yellow Lab down today.  15 years ago I was living with him “down the shore” for the summer when we bought her, and I took primary responsibility for her early training.  I’m going to miss her.
  • My sister and her husband live in the Philly burbs.  They were without power for 9 days, and they lost an SUV (pancaked by a massive tree in her driveway) and sustained damage to their 40 foot boat that was blocked up on LBI.
  • My mom was without power for 7 days, but their backup generator held strong.  My sister and her family ended up crashing there.
  • A good friend of mine has been a big inspiration to me, and our families have hung out together a few times.  He’s a two-time cancer survivor, and his wife beat breast cancer WHILE he was fighting testicular cancer.  His 7 year old son was just diagnosed and has some sort of aggressive sarcoma that is un-treatable by chemo, so he’s endured 2 surgeries this week to excavate and remove tumors in his leg/groin.  I rode and run as a part of his LIVESTRONG team this summer.

 

So just about everything above, while dreadfully unfortunate, is unavoidable.  You put your head down and fight through everything you can, but at the end of your day it’s out of your control.  It doesn’t mean, however, that it’s pity party time.

I jumped into running in preparation of a 5K last December (2011) being heavily inspired by people that have battled cancer.  My Aunt Debbie.  My buddy Derek.  My high school classmate Dom.  My former student Sue.  My buddy Joe and his wife.  Bubba and the family he left behind.

So I’m feeling a little dark today.  My plan is to rest tonight and focus.  I’m going to do my damnedest to put a hurting on this run tomorrow.  Komen is a big beneficiary of this race, so there is a lot of pink cancer awareness around here.  It bugs the crap out of me that we haven’t beaten this thing called cancer yet, and I’m just going to let it flow tomorrow.  All of the work I’ve put into this run in 2012 is going to show up tomorrow, so help me….

Leave a Reply

