Outseason and Goal-Setting – What’s Next?

So I’m still buzzing from the weekend and the wonderful time I had at the Cape Henlopen Triathlon.  I felt it on Monday, but my body just felt as if I did a brick workout the day before. I headed to the gym and did some weight training yesterday, and the squats, deadlifts, and kettlebell work are going to be key for better strength and power.  Admittedly I’ve only used weight training sparingly over the past year, and it’s something I plan on building into my outseason schedule.

On that note, I can’t help but look forward to 2013, and what races will land on the calendar!  My process will be to start with the very broad and move towards the specific.

The first thing I want to do is take a good, hard, honest look at where I am right now, and where I want to see improvement:

  • SWIM – While I feel very strong and confident in the lap pool, I am struggling in open water.  My first race was a huge wake-up-call when it came to the lake swim (although getting pummeled will do that to you) and Cape Henlopen felt very much the same.  My breathing was labored and the combination of the waves and wetsuit made for a miserable time.  I think it’s going to be a combination of stroke efficiency and open-water experience.
  • BIKE – Since the bike normally represents the longest phase of any race, time gains made here make an immediate impact.  During my ride at Cape Henlopen, I averaged right about 20 mph, which is great considering my normal hard training effort usually yields 14-16 mph.
  • RUN – I’m never going to be a fast runner, and my fastest race pace is somewhere between a 9:00 and 10:00 minute mile.  I would like to be faster, and the gateway to more speed is speed workouts.  I’ve been more concerned with distance and better technique, and I have improved in these areas.
  • BODY WEIGHT – This is a personal area, but I din’t need to be a member of Mensa to understand that dropping some weight should help all of the above.  Hauling 230 pounds around a racecourse is going to take more total effort than 200 pounds.

 

The performance level goals I would like to achieve in 2013:

  • Swim pace of 1:50/100 in open water races
  • Bike speed in races approaching 25 mph
  • Run race pace capability of 8:00/mi in a 5K
  • Body re-composition bringing body weight down to >200 lbs
  • Race in 2 Olympic Distance events – possibly a Half Ironman (highly dependent on swim progress)

My next post will address the tactical means to accomplish this.

Leave a Reply

