“Engage Maverick, Engage!”

So in the week following my first triathlon, I took a coupl e of rest days, followed by a spin class, a couple of nice outdoor runs in beautiful weather, and two terrible pool swims.

All I’ve been able to think about is (a) how dreadful my first mass start swim experience was last week, and (b) this open water OCEAN swim coming up in my next race.  My enthusiasm for multi-sport is very high, and I am really excited to grow and get stronger for longer races in 2013, but I have a bit of a monkey on my back when I’m in the water and that needs to be dealt with.

In short – I’ve got a confidence problem.

I went into that first swim so confident, and it all went to crap as soon as I drank my first gullet-full of lake water.  I’ve got to figure out a way to buck up and get this thing done.  I’m almost thinking that some sort of over-compensation needs to take place – maybe “heavying-up” on swimming (masters swim team, lapsters, etc)?  I’m sure other endurance competitors have faced similar feelings after biking following a crash.

There is a local yoga studio that also offers spin classes taught by triathlete/cyclists.  I went to one on Wednesday morning and it kicked my ass.  My biggest issue was standing in the saddle, especially at the lower resistances.  I’ve got a long way to go, but I think the spin classes might make it fun.

Leave a Reply

