The day after the triathlon…

I feel like I’m slacking, but I made a promise to myself that I would rest until Wednesday.  I had been training hard for yesterday’s race since June (when I bought my bike off Craigslist), and my triathlon is actually part of a larger journey I began way back in 2011.

I’m still feeling a little rattled about how monumentally BAD the swim was yesterday.  I’m hoping that just experience will help this, and I’m sure a trillion pool laps won’t hurt either, but that odd feeling of not-being-able-to-breathe is a bit haunting.  Cape Henlopen involves an ocean OWS, so it’s not going to be any easier.  The good news is that the bike and run are flat as a 2×4 (both legs are a bit longer).  I’d happily trade some mileage for hills though.

I was looking through the race data from my Garmin 910xt, and nothing jumped out at me.  The autolap setting on the bike was for 5 miles, so there really aren’t enough good data points available to draw any solid conclusions.  One thing that I forgot to mention was that I momentarily panicked in the OWS yesterday – while treading water at the start I inadvertently LOCKED the screen on my watch!  I just hit a few buttons blindly and magically unlocked it.  I need to spend some time with the manual again!

Leave a Reply

