Blogging on a plane, and thinking of LIVESTRONG this weekend

So I’m cruising at 36,000 feet, and the captain just came on with the bad news…

I’ll give you a hint – it contains the phrase “We’re going to be diverting…”. I know it could be worse, much worse, but it’s a bummer because all I can think of is the.hard swim workout I had, the coach-seat “plane-body” I now have after 4 hours in the air, and the stretching I’ll need to perform to get right again.

I’m headed to Dallas for a single day’s worth of meetings with a partner, and then quickly back home. I went HARD on Sunday with my longest brick to date – 21 miles on the bike and 5 miles run/walk. I’m happy to report that it was more running than walking, but my heart rate was doing some funky things and I just couldn’t slow down on the hilly course.

I run a 10k on Saturday, and then turn around for a 20 mi bike on Sunday. I’m in a very positive frame of mind, and I feel as if I’m going to do great. I’ve prepared, possibly over-prepared in some ways, but I’m in a great frame of mind. I’d love to try to do the run in under 70 minutes and the bike in under 75 minutes, but I have no idea what to expect. I’ve been getting 16-17mph averages on my training rides with big hills and stoplights, so maybe I’ll be faster?

In 2 weeks I run a 5k on a Wednesday night of all times. I think I’ll treat it as a paced run, and try to push for 9 min miles if possible. Then onto the sprint triathlons…

Leave a Reply

